Greetings and Salutations to You

An Introduction, if you will:

I see you have stumbled across my humble blog. In that case I believe I should introduce myself. My name is Molly Thorne. I am 18 years old and have lived in Dapto all my life. I am currently studying at University of Wollongong and working towards a degree in Communications and Media with a major in Digital and Social media. I am extremely passionate about the things I enjoy, so be prepared, if you find yourself in conversation with me about such a topic, to have your ear thoroughly talked off, as though it never existed in the first place.

Speaking Of Things I Enjoy

Art

Art is a major hobby for me and something that, I believe, allows me a certain freedom to express myself. It always puts me in a good mood, and when looking at my notes you will often find scribbles or doodles in the margins.

I enjoy drawing portraits of people that I admire though they take a really long time for me to finish them. If I’m not drawing singers, models, actors or video game characters, I’m either sketching the scenery around me or I’m drawing flowers and noting down their uses.

Sebastiano Serafini
Portrait of Sebastiano Serafini that I drew

Music

While I don’t play an instrument, and I only ever sing in the shower, I have a major love… ok, obsession with music. If I have my phone or computer, and a set of headphones (my true love will forever be my RIG 600’s), I’ll be listening to music. What genres I listen to depend on my mood. Some days I’ll be listening to visual kei (a form of Japanese Rock) and others I will be listening to the soundtracks of my favourite video games and movies.

Favourite Artists: The GazettE, Crossfaith, Lynch., Northlane, Storm the Sky, LP, BTS, Seventeen, VIXX, Ruelle, A. Himitsu, Teddy Loid.

f5ab5f0bd0d0fb306c98cdb9eff5c758

Favourite Soundtracks: The Witcher 3, Assassins Creed, Dragon Age, Gladiator, Thor, Narnia, The Crow, Interview with the Vampire.

Video Games

I have to admit something straight up: I am a console peasant. I can now continue to tell you, dear reader, specifically what games I enjoy.

I usually play RPG’s or games with a fantasy setting, with the exception of Spec Ops: The line which I played because of its particularly poignant message which I will perhaps talk about another time. I am absolutely obsessed with Final Fantasy XV (It’s the first and only Final Fantasy game I have played) to a point where I finished it in ten days. Prompto is pretty much my spirit animal.

IMG_0558

I fell in love with The Witcher 3 at first sight with it’s in depth characters, rich history and gritty landscapes. And the soundtrack, how much I love the soundtrack of this game is immeasurable. I could rant about this game for hours.

I am also a Dragon Age fanatic, even though I have never played the games in their original order… long story. Anyway, it’s pretty much gotten to the point where I even swear in the fictional languages of the Dragon Age universe and quote lines from the game in everyday life.

“What? Lead? Me? No, no, no. No leading. Bad things happen when I lead. We get lost, people die, and the next thing you know I’m stranded somewhere without any pants.” – Alistair (Dragon Age: Origins)

Did I mention the great humor contained within them?

Movies

So if you spend enough time with me, you’ll soon end up watching a gothic horror movie. I am a sucker (no pun intended) for vampire movies, especially “Interview with the Vampire” (starring Tom Cruise, Brad Pitt and Antonio Banderas) and “Only Lovers Left Alive” (starring Tom Hiddleston and Tilda Swinton). I’m not going to spoil anything from them; if you want to know, they are well worth the watch.

Interview with the Vampire

Obviously I don’t only watch vampire movies, so some others which I watch regularly are “The Count of Monte Cristo” (2002), “The Picture of Dorian Gray” (2009), “Casablanca” (1942), “The Man From Nowhere” (2010) and “Stardust” (2007).

Other Random Stuff

  • I love dogs (not so much of a cat person, but I wouldn’t say I hate cats)
  • Asian cuisines are my favourite
  • I have been to Japan once and I want to go back again
  • I cosplay (You can have a look at my Instagram for that)
  • I also love taking photos (and occasionally modelling for them for fun)
  • Good luck beating me at TEKKEN 7
  • I drink far too much tea

CREDIT

Nathan  for my favourite photo of me (at the top of the page). He’s an amazing artist and you should totally check out his page.

Holly  (one of my cosplay buddies) for assistance with the photo.

Love you guys!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Greetings and Salutations to You

  1. Pingback: How I Became Obsessed Through Being Part of a Media Audience | Molly's Talks

Leave a comment